Topic Modelling with Python: Gensim

One investigation of my internship is into topic modelling of the 1916 letters. I decided to use Python, because I was already familiar with the language before I started the internship and Python has good libraries for natural language processing and topic modelling. I tested the nltk and the gensim toolkit. The nltk is a well known toolkit and I use parts of it occasionally. For an introduction I recommend the documentation and the O’Reilly book available via the NLTK website.

The gensim library is a library for ‘topic modelling for humans’, so I hope it is as easy to use and intuitive as it claims to be. It is quickly installed via easy_install or pip and it is build on NumPy and SciPy, which have to be installed in order to use it.

Leave a Reply

